Apply Now

HND in Computing

Apply Now

Course Description

The Pearson BTEC Higher National Diploma in Computing is ideal if you are seeking a higher education qualification or training in the world of sophisticated computing systems and networks. The programme is a non-specialist ‘Computing’ pathway, without committing to a particular professional specialism. The course will give you the practical core skills necessary to succeed as an IT professional. The course aims to provide focus on providing a range of careers in Computing, such as Network Management, Application Development, Database Management, Cloud and Security. You will gain a thorough grounding in the key concepts and practical skills required to progress into employment or continued undergraduate studies.

You apply for this course through UCAS using the code IT20.


BARRINGTON BROWN: Barrington - better known as Barry – has spent many years working in the Telecommunications industry. During this tenure, he managed Data Communications installations for many of the leading household names in banks and financial institutions in the UK. To complement this, he secured a degree in Management of Telecommunication Systems.

Sometime after, he embarked on a career change. He secured a PhD in Social Sciences, vivaed to a panel, including Professor Margret Cox, OBE.

Barry immerses himself in leaner development and success. His commitment to leaner personal and academic development drives his teaching strategy.


Pearsons Level 5 HND in Computing

Entry Requirements

80 UCAS tariff points which could include: 1 or more A Level in a relevant subject; BTEC Level 3 in a relevant subject; Access Programme in a relevant subject plus, GCSE English and Maths at Grade C/4 or above Mature students can apply with no formal qualifications but must have a minimum of three years relevant industry experience.


Course Content The units offered cover a range of computer-related skills the core units studied are:

  • Programming
  • Networking
  • Professional Practice
  • Database Design & Development
  • Security
  • Managing a Successful Computing Project
  • Computer Systems Architecture
  • Computing Research Project
  • Business Intelligence

In addition to the core units the course will also include five optional units. The course is delivered through a combination of lectures, tutorials and E-learning. The method of assessment varies between modules and your lecturers will advise you of the method(s) to be used. This reflects the need to develop a range of different knowledge, understanding and skills. During your HND programme you will experience some, or all, of the following methods of assessment:

  • Formal & Informal reports
  • Written assignments
  • Laboratory practical work
  • In-class tests
  • Coursework case study problems
  • Work sheets
  • Project work
  • Group/Individual presentations

Work Experience



A progression path for HND learners is to the second or third year of a degree or honours degree Course, depending on the match of the Pearson BTEC Higher National units to the degree Course in question. The skills offered as part of the Higher National Diploma can provide graduates with the opportunity to work in many different areas of the Computing sector. Below are some examples of job roles the qualification could lead to:

  • Systems Analyst
  • Data Designer
  • Systems Tester
  • Database Administrator
  • IT Project Manager
  • IT Support Technician
  • Web Designer
Apply Now